Entry Requirements to Punta Cana / Dominican Republic Tourist Card

Since May 1, 2012 citizens of all nationalities are required to enter Dominican Republic with a VALID PASSPORT.

To travel to the Dominican Republic, many people will need a Visa. Others, however, may be from countries who have signed agreements with the Dominican Republic so they only need a Tourist Card. This, of course, only applies to visitors who are tourists.

A Tourist Card is a US $10 tax on incoming tourists. The card can be purchased at the airport when you arrive. Tourist cards normally permit a legal stay of up 30, 60 or 90 days. Visitors who would like to extend their time in the Dominican Republic should visit the Migration Department in Santo Domingo and request an extension. Failure to request an extension will subject the visitor to a surcharge at the airport upon departure. The surcharge, assessed on a sliding scale, ranges from $30 for one month to as high as $500 for five years.

As of 2014 these are the nationalities and the requirements for the entry in Dominican Republic. Full list can be found at Migracion.gov or GoDominicanRepublic.com.

Do not need neither visa nor the tourist card: Need the tourist card but not a visa: Need a Visa:
  1. Argentina
  2. Chile
  3. South Korea
  4. Ecuador
  5. Israel
  6. Japan
  7. Peru
  8. Uruguay
EU, USA, Canada, most countries in Latin America Many African, Middle Eastern and Asian countries but also Colombia, Cuba and neighbouring Haiti.

Departure Tax

Departure tax is US$20. Scheduled airlines sometimes include this charge in the price of the ticket so you should check with your airline or tour operator if you are expected to pay or not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *